公司
解决方案
开发者
支持
Search
CN
CN
Ampere Computing Logo
解决方案
解决方案主页
平台系统
解决方案
性能总览
White Papers Coming Soon!
工作负载简介概览
Tuning Guides Overview
如何购买
Ampere 系统
Ampere Altra
Azure
Equinix
甲骨文
腾讯云
谷歌云
Ampere AI 下载工作原理常见问题
开发者
开发者中心部署云应用使能开源社区把数据用起来构建云应用设计云应用
Search
Cloud Native Solutions

AI 解决方案简介

基于 Ampere Altra Max 的AI推理解决方案

Print
Download
AI 解决方案简介
Ampere—赋能未来
在Ampere Altra Max 处理器上部署AI推理
在Ampere Altra Max 处理器上运行AI推理的收益
Ampere Altra Max
基准测试配置信息
推理性能
总结
脚注
AI 解决方案简介
Ampere—赋能未来

Ampere® Altra® Max 处理器是一个完整的片上系统 (SOC) 解决方案,支持多达 128 个高性能内核,具有可提供可预测的高性能的创新架构 ,线性缩放和高能效。 运行 AI 推理是云中快速增长的实际工作负载。虽然训练深度神经网络需要大量的 GPU 或类似的硬件加速基础设施,但在大多数情况下,CPU 可以处理经过完全训练、部署就绪的 AI 算法的推理。经验证,Ampere Altra Max 非常适合在云中执行 AI 推理工作,不仅可以满足延迟和吞吐量的要求,而且性能优于基于 x86 架构的 CPU,以及当前在云中使用的其他基于 ARM 架构的处理器。

在Ampere Altra Max 处理器上部署AI推理

Ampere Altra Max 处理器为 AI 工作负载提供卓越的性能和能效。在 Ampere Altra Max 上运行 AI 推理不需要修改或转换已有神经网络,独立于其训练的平台,只要它是使用行业标准 AI 开发框架之一(如 TensorFlow、PyTorch 或 ONNX)完成的即可。Ampere 优化的 TensorFlow、Pytorch 和 ONNX 可从我们的云服务伙伴或直接从 Ampere 处免费获得。

Ampere Altra Max 是目前唯一支持 fp16 数据格式的云原生处理器。与 fp32 模型相比,FP16 提供高达 2 倍的性能加速,而没有精度损失或可忽略不计。fp32 的量化很简单,不需要重新训练或重新调整权重。 如果在 GPU 上使用 fp16 进行训练,则可以在开箱即用的模型上运行推理。Ampere Altra Max 支持 fp32、fp16 和 int8 数据格式。

Ampere 提供一系列不断优化、预训练的模型,供用户下载用于演示或在实际应用程序中进行调整并使用。

最后,Ampere Altra Max CPU 还可以与 NVIDIA GPU 协同工作,以满足用户的训练需求。

我们按照 MLCommons 指南运行了一系列基准测试,以展示 Ampere Altra Max CPU 在多个具有代表性的 AI 推理任务中的卓越性能,包括计算机视觉和 NLP 应用。

在Ampere Altra Max 处理器上运行AI推理的收益
  • 云原生:Ampere Altra Max 专为云原生的工作负载而设计,其推理性能比最好的 x86 服务器高 2 倍,比其他类似的 ARM 架构的处理器好 5 倍。

  • 行业标准平台:Ampere Altra Max 无需修改即可在 TensorFlow、PyTorch 或 ONNX 框架上开发和运行 AI 推理的工作负载。客户只需使用 Ampere 或我们的云服务合作伙伴免费提供的优化框架即可部署运行自己应用程序。

  • 支持 fp16 格式:Ampere Altra Max 是目前唯一一款原生支持 fp16 数据格式,并已广泛可用的云原生 CPU 处理器。将 fp32 训练的网络量化为 fp16 很简单,不会导致明显的精度损失。

  • 可扩展性:凭借创新的可横向扩展架构,Ampere Altra Max 处理器具有更高的核心数和极其出色的单线程性能。结合所有内核可同时一致频率运行的特性,Ampere Altra Max 的单CPU整体性能比目前最好的 x86 服务器更高,更稳定,在多租户的云环境中对“嘈杂邻居”的干扰更具抵抗力。

  • 高能效:凭借多达 128 个节能 Arm 内核,Ampere Altra Max 与性能领先的 x86 服务器相比,具有 60% 的性能功耗比优势。行业领先的性能和高能效使 Ampere Altra Max 具有更小的碳足迹并降低了总拥有成本 (TCO)。

Ampere Altra Max
  • 128个 64-bit内核,最大主频3.0 GHZ
  • 单核 64 KiB i-Cache, 64 KiB d-Cache
  • 单核 1MiB L2 Cache
  • 16MB SLC (System Level Cache)
  • 一致性网格互联架构

内存

  • 8x72 bit DDR4-3200 channels
  • 支持ECC & RAS
  • 最大可配 16x DIMMS (2 DPC) 和 4TB 内存容量

外部连接

  • 单颗CPU提供128路 PCIe Gen4
  • 支持双路一致性互联
  • 4x16路 CCIX协议通道

系统

  • Armv8.2 指令集,SBSA Level 4认证
  • 高级电源管理模块

性能

  • SPECrate®2017Integer Estimated: 350
基准测试配置信息

基准测试是使用 TensorFlow 在具有相同内存、网络和存储配置的裸机单路服务器上执行的,配置与这里所示的 x86 平台一致。测试的处理器包括启用TF2.7 ZenDNN 的 AMD EPYC 7J13 “Milan”、启用 TF 2.7 DNNL 的 Intel Xeon 8375C “Cascade Lake”、启用TF 2.7 DNNL 的 Intel Xeon 8380 “Ice Lake”,启用Ampere Optimized TF 2.7 的 Ampere Altra Max M128-30和同样 ARM-64 架构,64核配置的“Graviton 2”(通过AWSc6g云实例)进行了测试。

每种设备类型的详细基准测试条件和配置在这里

推理性能

按照 MLCommons 基准测试指南运行各种 AI 工作负载后,部分测试的结果如下。

计算机视觉方面,使用 SSD ResNet-34 测试典型的对象检测应用,在fp32 模式下,Ampere Altra Max 在延迟方面优于 Intel Xeon 8375C 2 倍,是AMD EPYC7Ji3 和 Graviton 的近4 倍。在 fp16 模式下,Altra Max 将领先优势扩大了两倍,同时保持了相同的精度。 请参见图 1。

与竞争对手相比,Ampere Altra Max 在性能功耗比方面也具有显著优势。在 fp16 分辨率下,Altra Max 的能效比 Intel Xeon 和 AMD EPYC 高约 5 倍。 在 fp32 分辨率下,Altra Max 比相同的 Intel 和 AMD 设备保持 2 倍的优势(图 2)

Fig 1. Object Detection Single-Stream Latency in FPS
Fig 2. ResNet Throughput (FPS)/Power (W)
总结

Ampere Altra Max 处理器是一个完整的片上系统 (SOC) 解决方案,专为云原生工作负载而构建,旨在为 AI 推理提供卓越的性能和能源效率。与 Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8375c 和 AMD EPYC 7J13 相比,Ampere Altra Max 的性能最高可提高 4 倍。 在能效方面,Ampere Altra Max 同样领先竞争对手,在同等吞吐量下消耗的功率减少了 60%。

访问 https://solutions.amperecomputing.com/solutions/ampere-ai,了解如何通过我们的云服务合作伙伴访问 Ampere 系统并体验 Ampere 处理器的性能和能效。

脚注

此处包含的所有数据和信息仅供参考,Ampere 保留更改它的权利,恕不另行通知。本文档可能包含技术错误、遗漏和印刷错误,Ampere 没有义务更新或更正此信息。 Ampere 不作任何形式的陈述或保证,包括但不限于对不侵权、适销性或适用于特定目的的明示或暗示保证,并且不承担任何形式的责任。所有信息均“按原样”提供。本文件不是 Ampere 的要约或具有约束力的承诺。使用此处设想的产品需要随后的谈判和最终协议的执行,或者受 Ampere 的商品销售条款和条件的约束。

与 Ampere 测试中使用的不同的系统配置、组件、软件版本和测试环境可能会导致与 Ampere 获得的测量结果不同。

©2022 Ampere Computing 版权所有。Ampere、Ampere Computing、Altra 和“A”标志都是 Ampere Computing 的注册商标或商标。 Arm 是 Arm Limited(或其子公司)的注册商标。本出版物中使用的所有其他产品名称仅用于识别目的,可能是其各自公司的商标。

Ampere Computing® / 4655 Great America Parkway, Suite 601 / Santa Clara, CA 95054 / amperecomputing.com

Ampere Computing

4655 Great America Parkway

Suite 601 Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: +1-669-770-3700

info[at]amperecomputing.com

关于我们
image
image
© 2022 Ampere Computing LLC. All rights reserved. Ampere, Altra and the A and Ampere logos are registered trademarks or trademarks of Ampere Computing.

Company
Solutions
Support
Search
Ampere Computing Logo
Solutions
Solutions Home
Systems
Solutions
Performance Overview
Briefs Overview
Where to Try
Ampere Systems
Ampere Altra
Azure
Equinix
Google Cloud
Oracle
Tencent Cloud
Ampere AIDownloadsHow It WorksFAQs
Search
Hero Image

AI Solution Brief

AI Inference on Ampere Altra Max

Print
Download
AI Solution Brief
Ampere—Empowering What’s Next
AI Inference on Ampere Altra Max
Benefits of running AI Inference on Ampere Altra Max
Ampere Altra Max
Benchmarking Configuration
Inference Performance
Summary
Footnotes
AI Solution Brief
Ampere—Empowering What’s Next

The Ampere® Altra® Max processor is a complete system-on-chip (SOC) solution that supports up to 128 high-performance cores with innovative architecture that delivers predictable high performance, linear scaling, and high energy efficiency. Running AI inference is a rapidly growing production workload in the cloud. While training deep neural networks require a significant amount of GPU or similar hardware acceleration infrastructure, running inference on fully trained, deployment ready AI algorithms can be handled by CPUs in most situations. We demonstrate that Ampere Altra Max is ideal for running AI inference in the cloud, not only meeting latency and throughput requirements, but also outperforming CPUs based on x86 architecture as well as other ARM based processors currently used in the Cloud.

AI Inference on Ampere Altra Max

Ampere Altra Max processors deliver exceptional performance and power efficiency for AI workloads. Running AI inference on Ampere Altra Max requires no modification or translation of your neural network, independent of the platform it was trained on as long as it was done with one of the industry standard AI development frameworks such as TensorFlow, PyTorch or ONNX. Ampere’s optimized TensorFlow, Pytorch and ONNX are available at no charge either from our cloud suppliers or directly from Ampere.

Ampere Altra Max is the only cloud processor that currently supports the fp16 data format. Fp16 provides up to a 2x performance speed-up over fp32 models with no or negligible loss of accuracy. The quantization from fp32 is straightforward and requires no retraining or rescaling the weights. If trained on fp16 on GPU, inference can be run on the model out of the box. Ampere Altra Max supports fp32, fp16 and int8 data formats.

Ampere provides an ever-growing family of optimized, pre-trained models available for download to use for demos or to adapt and use in your applications.

Finally, Ampere Altra Max CPUs also work in tandem with NVIDIA GPUs for your training needs.

We have run a series of benchmarks, following MLCommons guidelines to demonstrate and document Ampere Altra Max CPUs superior performance in many representative AI inference tasks including Computer Vision and NLP applications.

Benefits of running AI Inference on Ampere Altra Max
  • Cloud Native: Designed from the ground up for 'born in the cloud' workloads, Ampere Altra Max delivers up to 2x higher inference performance than the best x86 servers and 5x better than similar ARM based processors.

  • Industry Standard Platforms: Ampere Altra Max runs AI inference workloads developed on TensorFlow, PyTorch or ONNX without modifications. Customers can run their applications by simply using our optimized frameworks, available free of charge from Ampere or our cloud partners.

  • Support for fp16 format: Ampere Altra Max is the only broadly available cloud CPU that natively supports the fp16 data format. Quantizing fp32 trained networks to fp16 is straightforward and results in no visible accuracy loss.

  • Scalable: With an innovative scale-out architecture, Ampere Altra Max processors have a high core count with compelling single-threaded performance. Combined with consistent frequency for all cores Ampere Altra Max delivers consistent performance at the socket level greater than the best x86 servers. This leads to much higher resistance to noisy neighbors in multitenant environments

  • Energy Efficiency: With up to 128 energy-efficient Arm cores, Ampere Altra Max has a 60% performance/watt advantage over leading x86 servers with better performance. Industry leading performance and high energy efficiency results in Ampere Altra Max having a smaller carbon footprint and reduces Total Cost of Ownership (TCO).

Ampere Altra Max
  • 128 64-bit cores at 3.0GHz
  • 64KB i-Cache, 64KB d-Cache per core
  • 1MB L2 Cache per core
  • 16MB System Level Cache
  • Coherent mesh-based interconnect

Memory

  • 8x72 bit DDR4-3200 channels
  • ECC and DDR4 RAS
  • Up to 16 DIMMs (2 DPC) and 4TB addressable memory

Connectivity

  • 128 lanes of PCIe Gen4
  • Coherent multi-socket support
  • 4x16 CCIX lanes

System

  • Armv8.2+, SBSA Level 4
  • Advanced Power Management

Performance

  • SPECrate®2017Integer Estimated: 350
Benchmarking Configuration

The benchmarks were performed using TensorFlow on bare metal single socket servers with equivalent memory, networking, and storage configurations for the x86 platforms shown. Processors tested include AMD EPYC 7J13 “Milan” with TF2.7 ZenDNN, Intel Xeon 8375C “Cascade Lake” with TF 2.7 DNNL, Intel Xeon 8380 “Ice Lake” with TF 2.7 DNNL and Ampere Altra Max M128-30 with Ampere Optimized TF 2.7. ARM-64 based “Graviton 2”, available exclusively through AWS (c6g shape), was tested in 64-core configuration.

Detailed benchmark conditions and configurations for each device type can be found

here

Inference Performance

Having run various AI workloads according to MLCommons benchmarking guidelines, we present some of our results below.

In Computer Vision using SSD ResNet-34 for a typical Object Detection application Ampere Altra Max outperforms in latency, Intel Xeon 8375C by 2x, AMD EPYC7Ji3 and Graviton by 4x in fp32 mode. In fp16, Altra Max extends its lead by an additional factor of two while maintaining the same accuracy. See Figure 1.

Ampere Altra Max also has a significant advantage in performance/watt over its competitors. In fp16 resolution Altra Max is around 5x more power efficient than Intel Xeon and AMD EPYC. In fp32 resolution Altra Max maintains a 2x advantage over the same Intel and AMD devices. (Figure 2.)

Fig 1. Object Detection Single-Stream Latency in FPS
Fig 2. ResNet Throughput (FPS)/Power (W)
Summary

Ampere Altra Max processors are a complete System on a Chip (SOC) solution built for Cloud Native workloads, designed to deliver exceptional performance and energy efficiency for AI inferencing. Ampere Altra Max has up to 4x faster performance compared to Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8375c and AMD EPYC 7J13. In power efficiency Ampere Altra Max also leads its competitors by consuming 60% less power at equivalent throughputs.

Visit https://solutions.amperecomputing.com/solutions/ampere-ai to learn how to access Ampere systems from our partner Cloud Service Providers and experience the performance and power efficiency of Ampere processors.

Footnotes

All data and information contained herein is for informational purposes only and Ampere reserves the right to change it without notice. This document may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors, and Ampere is under no obligation to update or correct this information. Ampere makes no representations or warranties of any kind, including but not limited to express or implied guarantees of noninfringement, merchantability, or fitness for a particular purpose, and assumes no liability of any kind. All information is provided “AS IS.” This document is not an offer or a binding commitment by Ampere. Use of the products contemplated herein requires the subsequent negotiation and execution of a definitive agreement or is subject to Ampere’s Terms and Conditions for the Sale of Goods.

System configurations, components, software versions, and testing environments that differ from those used in Ampere’s tests may result in different measurements than those obtained by Ampere.

©2022 Ampere Computing. All Rights Reserved. Ampere, Ampere Computing, Altra and the ‘A’ logo are all registered trademarks or trademarks of Ampere Computing. Arm is a registered trademark of Arm Limited (or its subsidiaries). All other product names used in this publication are for identification purposes only and may be trademarks of their respective companies.

Ampere Computing® / 4655 Great America Parkway, Suite 601 / Santa Clara, CA 95054 / amperecomputing.com

Created At : May 25th 2022, 4:50:08 pm
Last Updated At : August 18th 2022, 8:48:44 am

Ampere Computing

4655 Great America Parkway

Suite 601 Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: +1-669-770-3700

info[at]amperecomputing.com

About
image
image
image
image
© 2022 Ampere Computing LLC. All rights reserved. Ampere, Altra and the A and Ampere logos are registered trademarks or trademarks of Ampere Computing.