公司
解决方案
开发者
支持
Search
CN
CN
Ampere Computing Logo
解决方案
解决方案主页
平台系统
解决方案
性能总览
White Papers Coming Soon!
工作负载简介概览
Tuning Guides Overview
如何购买
Ampere 系统
Ampere Altra
Azure
Equinix
甲骨文
腾讯云
谷歌云
Ampere AI 下载工作原理常见问题
开发者
开发者中心部署云应用使能开源社区把数据用起来构建云应用设计云应用
Search
Cloud Computing Solutions

谷歌云上的 Cassandra 工作负载简介

基于 Ampere Altra 处理器的TAU T2A 虚拟机

Print
Download
概述
结果和主要发现
基准测试配置
基准测试结论
脚注
概述

Ampere® Altra®处理器从设计伊始就旨在为云原生应用程序(如Apache Cassandra)提供卓越的性能。以其创新架构,提供高性能、线性可扩展性和惊人的能源效率,Ampere Altra允许工作负载在不断增加的负载下,性能变化很小,以可预测的方式运行。在Cassandra实际工作负载中提供行业领先的性能/瓦特能力和更低的碳足迹。

谷歌云基于Ampere Altra处理器的Tau T2A虚拟机针对向外扩展的云原生工作负载进行了成本优化,提供以多种预定的虚拟机形态-每个虚拟机最多48个vCPU,每个vCPU 4 GB内存,最高32 Gbps网络带宽,以及广泛的网络连接存储选项。这些虚拟机适用于诸多向外扩展的工作负载,如web服务器、容器化微服务、数据日志处理、媒体转码和Java应用程序。

Apache Cassandra是一个开源的NoSQL分布式数据库,阴其在很高的可伸缩性和可用性下对性能影响几乎没有,而受到数千家公司的信任。在商用硬件或云基础设施上所表现出来的线性可伸缩性,以及经过验证的容错性使其成为存储关键任务数据的良好选择。

在这份工作负载简介中,我们将Cassandra 运行在基于Ampere Altra处理器供电的谷歌Cloud Tau T2A虚拟机上,与基于Intel® Xeon®Ice lake的n2-standard和基于AMD EPYC™milan的n2d-standard虚拟机上进行比较,同时测量每个实例上的吞吐量和延迟。

结果和主要发现
Fig.1: Apache Cassandra Throughput on Google Cloud T2A Standard 32 Virtual Machines Powered by Ampere® Altra® Processors

如图1所示,与Intel Ice Lake N2和AMD Milan N2D vm相比,我们观察到使用Ampere Altra处理器的GCP t2a标准虚拟机的性能提高了10%,p.99 SLA 都是10毫秒。

Fig.2: Apache Cassandra Price-Performance on Google Cloud T2A Standard 32 Virtual Machines Powered by Ampere® Altra® Processors

如图2所示,我们观察到,与Intel Ice Lake 虚拟机相比,使用Ampere Altra处理器的GCP t2a标准虚拟机的性价比提高了40%,比AMD Milan 虚拟机提高了25%。

基准测试配置

我们的测试使用Cassandra-stress压测工具作为Cassandra的负载生成器。每个测试都配置为使用多个线程和客户端运行3分钟。

建议使用JDK-15(使用GCC 10.2编译,使用架构相应的flag)或更新版本编译Cassandra,因为最近的jdk在为AArch64应用程序生成优化代码方面取得了重大进展。

G1垃圾收集器使用了适当的内存和线程数。Cassandra数据存储在NVMe磁盘驱动器上,而提交日志存储在tmpfs上。

Ubuntu 20.04与Cassandra 4.0.1一起使用。对于每个测试,使用类似数量的Cassandra-stress 客户端来生成请求。

按惯例在指定的服务水平协议(SLA)下测量吞吐量,因此使用了10 ms的第99百分位延迟(p.99),即确保了99%的请求的最差响应时间为10毫秒

测试在预热状态下运行了3分钟,其中90%写和10%读,这对于Cassandra来说是一个重要的使用情况,因为Cassandra针对写操作进行了优化。最初使用适当数量的客户端和线程来加载Cassandra的一个实例,同时确保p.99的延迟不超过10毫秒。

接下来,Cassandra 实例的数量不断增加,直到一个或多个实例违反 p.99 延迟 SLA。 所有实例的总吞吐量用作主要性能指标。 测试运行了 3 次,观察到每次运行之间的变化很小。

基准测试结论

分布式NoSQL数据库(如Cassandra)可以非常轻松地,并可伸缩性管理大量数据,在云部署中很受欢迎。我们的测试表明,与传统的x86虚拟机相比,基于Ampere altra的谷歌Tau T2A虚拟机具有高达10%的性能优势和高达40%的性价比优势。对于云应用程序开发人员来说,在谷歌cloud上选择基于Ampere altra的虚拟机意味着更好的性能和性价比,同时减少您的碳足迹。

有关使用基于Ampere Altra处理器的谷歌Tau T2D虚拟机的更多信息,请访问谷歌云博客

脚注

此处包含的所有数据和信息仅供参考,Ampere 保留更改它的权利,恕不另行通知。本文档可能包含技术错误、遗漏和印刷错误,Ampere 没有义务更新或更正此信息。 Ampere 不作任何形式的陈述或保证,包括但不限于对不侵权、适销性或适用于特定目的的明示或暗示保证,并且不承担任何形式的责任。所有信息均“按原样”提供。本文件不是 Ampere 的要约或具有约束力的承诺。使用此处设想的产品需要随后的谈判和最终协议的执行,或者受 Ampere 的商品销售条款和条件的约束。

与 Ampere 测试中使用的不同的系统配置、组件、软件版本和测试环境可能会导致与 Ampere 获得的测量结果不同。

©2022 Ampere Computing 版权所有。Ampere、Ampere Computing、Altra和“A”标志均为Ampere Computing的注册商标或商标。Arm是Arm有限公司(或其子公司)的注册商标。本出版物中使用的所有其他产品名称仅用于识别目的,可能是其各自公司的商标。

Ampere Computing®/ 4655 Great America Parkway, Suite 601 / Santa Clara, CA 95054 / amperecomputing.com

Ampere Computing

4655 Great America Parkway

Suite 601 Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: +1-669-770-3700

info[at]amperecomputing.com

关于我们
image
image
© 2022 Ampere Computing LLC. All rights reserved. Ampere, Altra and the A and Ampere logos are registered trademarks or trademarks of Ampere Computing.

Company
Solutions
Developers
Careers
Search
EN
EN
Ampere Computing Logo
Solutions
Solutions Home
Systems
Solutions
Performance Overview
Workload Briefs Overview
Tuning Guides Overview
Where to Try
Ampere Systems
Ampere Altra
Azure
Equinix
Google Cloud
Oracle
Tencent Cloud
Ampere AIDownloadsHow It WorksFAQs
Developers
Developer CenterDesigning Cloud ApplicationsBuilding Cloud ApplicationsDeploying Cloud ApplicationsUsing Your DataEnabling the Open-Source CommunityAmpere Ready Software
Support
Search
Hero Image

Cassandra on Google Cloud
Workload Brief

TAU T2A Virtual Machines Powered by Ampere Altra Processors

Print
Download
Overview
Results and key benefits
Benchmarking Configuration
Key Findings and Conclusions
Footnotes
Overview

Ampere® Altra® processors are designed from the ground up to deliver exceptional performance for Cloud Native applications such as Apache Cassandra. With an innovative architecture that delivers high performance, linear scalability, and amazing energy efficiency, Ampere Altra allows workloads to run in a predictable manner with minimal variance under increasing loads. This enables industry leading performance/watt and a smaller carbon footprint for real-world workloads such as Cassandra.

Google Cloud offers the cost-optimized Tau T2A VMs powered by Ampere Altra processors for scale-out Cloud Native workloads in multiple predetermined VM shapes – up to 48 vCPUS per VM, 4 GB of memory per vCPU, up to 32 Gbps networking bandwidth, and a wide range of network-attached storage options. These VMs are suitable for scale-out workloads such as web servers, containerized microservices, data-logging processing, media transcoding, and Java applications.

Apache Cassandra is an open-source NoSQL distributed database trusted by thousands of companies for scalability and high availability without compromising performance. Linear scalability and proven fault tolerance on commodity hardware or cloud infrastructure make it the perfect platform for mission-critical data.

In this workload brief, we compare Cassandra running on Google Cloud Tau T2A VMs powered by Ampere Altra processors to the Intel® Xeon®Ice Lake-based n2-standard and AMD EPYC™ Milan-based n2d-standard VMs while measuring the throughput and latencies on each of these instances.

Results and key benefits
Fig.1: Apache Cassandra Throughput on Google Cloud T2A Standard 32 Virtual Machines Powered by Ampere® Altra® Processors

As seen in Figure 1, we observed a 10% improvement in performance on the GCP t2a-standard VMs powered by Ampere Altra processors compared to the Intel Ice Lake N2 and the AMD Milan N2D VMs, all under a p.99 SLA of 10 ms.

Fig.2: Apache Cassandra Price-Performance on Google Cloud T2A Standard 32 Virtual Machines Powered by Ampere® Altra® Processors

As seen in Figure 2, we observed up to a 40% improvement in price-performance on the GCP t2a-standard VMs powered by Ampere Altra processors compared to the Intel Ice Lake VMs, and 25% better than the AMD Milan ones.

Benchmarking Configuration

Our tests were performed using the cassandra-stress tool as a load generator for Cassandra. Each test was configured to run for 3 minutes with multiple threads and clients. 

It is recommended to compile Cassandra with JDK-15 (compiled with GCC 10.2 with the right flags) or newer as newer Java versions have made significant progress towards generating optimized code that can improve performance for aarch64 applications. 

The G1 garbage collector was used with appropriate memory and the number of threads. Cassandra’s data was stored on an NVMe disk drive, while the commit log was stored on tmpfs. 

Ubuntu 20.04 was used with Cassandra 4.0.1. For each of the tests, a similar number of clients were used to generate requests to Cassandra. 

Since it is realistic to measure throughput under a specified Service Level Agreement (SLA), a 99th percentile latency (p.99) of 10 ms was used. This ensured that 99% of the requests had a worst-case response time of 10 ms. 

The test ran for 3 minutes with warmup with 90% write and 10% read, which is a critical usage for Cassandra, as Cassandra is optimized for write operations. An appropriate number of clients and threads to load one instance of Cassandra was initially used while ensuring the p.99 latency was at most 10 ms. 

Next, the number of Cassandra instances was successively increased till one or more instances violated the p.99 latency SLA. The aggregate throughput of all instances was used as the primary performance metric. The test was run three times and minimal run-to-run variation was observed.

Key Findings and Conclusions

Distributed NoSQL databases such as Cassandra manage a large volume of data with great ease and scalability and are popular in cloud deployments. Our tests showed up to a 10% performance advantage and up to 40% price-performance advantage for Ampere Altra-based Google Tau T2A VMs compared to the legacy x86 VMs. For cloud application developers, choosing Ampere Altra-based VMs on Google Cloud means better performance and price-performance while reducing your carbon footprint.

For more information about the Google Tau T2D Virtual Machines with Ampere Altra processors, visit the Google Cloud blog.

Footnotes

All data and information contained herein is for informational purposes only and Ampere reserves the right to change it without notice. This document may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors, and Ampere is under no obligation to update or correct this information. Ampere makes no representations or warranties of any kind, including but not limited to express or implied guarantees of noninfringement, merchantability, or fitness for a particular purpose, and assumes no liability of any kind. All information is provided “AS IS.” This document is not an offer or a binding commitment by Ampere. Use of the products contemplated herein requires the subsequent negotiation and execution of a definitive agreement or is subject to Ampere’s Terms and Conditions for the Sale of Goods.

System configurations, components, software versions, and testing environments that differ from those used in Ampere’s tests may result in different measurements than those obtained by Ampere.

©2022 Ampere Computing. All Rights Reserved. Ampere, Ampere Computing, Altra and the ‘A’ logo are all registered trademarks or trademarks of Ampere Computing. Arm is a registered trademark of Arm Limited (or its subsidiaries). All other product names used in this publication are for identification purposes only and may be trademarks of their respective companies.

Ampere Computing® / 4655 Great America Parkway, Suite 601 / Santa Clara, CA 95054 / amperecomputing.com

Ampere Computing

4655 Great America Parkway

Suite 601 Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: +1-669-770-3700

info[at]amperecomputing.com

About
image
image
image
image
© 2022 Ampere Computing LLC. All rights reserved. Ampere, Altra and the A and Ampere logos are registered trademarks or trademarks of Ampere Computing.