公司
解决方案
开发者
支持
Search
CN
CN
Ampere Computing Logo
解决方案
解决方案主页
平台系统
解决方案
性能总览
White Papers Coming Soon!
工作负载简介概览
Tuning Guides Overview
如何购买
Ampere 系统
Ampere Altra
Azure
Equinix
甲骨文
腾讯云
谷歌云
Ampere AI 下载工作原理常见问题
开发者
开发者中心部署云应用使能开源社区把数据用起来构建云应用设计云应用
Search
x.264 测试说明

Lib x.264 测试是在具有相同内存、网络和存储配置的裸机单路服务器上进行,每个平台配置都一样。这里测试的处理器是:AMD EPYC 7763“Milan”;英特尔至强 8380“Icel Lake”;Ampere Altra Q80-30;Ampere Altra Max M128-30。

x264 使用“vbench:一种云中视频转码,新兴的视频即服务工作负载的测试基准”进行基准测试,可在 ARCADE Lab 获得。 Vbench 的 15 个输入视频经过算法选择,代表基于分辨率、帧速率和复杂性的数百万视频的大型商业资源库。 针对“上传”和“视频点播”两种情况进行性能和功耗评估。上传使用单通道转码,这样不会降低输入视频质量,这代表了对视频服务的初始上传编码,需要兼顾速度和质量。视频点播 (VoD) 使用 2 遍转码,需要速度和优化压缩,而不会降低视频质量。VoD 第一遍收集第二遍中使用的统计信息,以便在编码复杂帧与简单帧时分配更多位。

为了最大化 ffmpeg 吞吐量,运行的多个 ffmpeg 实例等于可用的 CPU 内核数,每个实例使用一个 ffmpeg 线程。所有 ffmpeg 实例都在一个CPU专用内核运行,并使用 numactl 设置亲和力。最后得到的报告包括为每个 ffmpeg 进程转码 15 个 vbench 输入文件的平均时间和CPU级别的电源使用情况。为了最大限度地减少操作系统开销,ffmpeg 二进制文件以及所有输入和输出文件都存储在 ramdisk 上。将 Ampere Altra Max M128-30 处理器与运行 CentOS 8.4 和 4.18 内核的 Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8380 (Ice Lake) 和 AMD EPYC™ 7763 (Milan) 进行了比较。在所有平台上都使用了最新的 ffmpeg 版本和带有 gcc 11 的 libx264 版本。

Created At : August 16th 2022, 10:44:15 am
Last Updated At : August 29th 2022, 3:46:35 pm

Ampere Computing

4655 Great America Parkway

Suite 601 Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: +1-669-770-3700

info[at]amperecomputing.com

关于我们
image
image
© 2022 Ampere Computing LLC. All rights reserved. Ampere, Altra and the A and Ampere logos are registered trademarks or trademarks of Ampere Computing.

Company
Solutions
Support
Search
Ampere Computing Logo
Solutions
Solutions Home
Systems
Solutions
Performance Overview
Briefs Overview
Where to Try
Ampere Systems
Ampere Altra
Azure
Equinix
Google Cloud
Oracle
Tencent Cloud
Ampere AIDownloadsHow It WorksFAQs
Search
x.264 Test Notes

Lib x.264 tests were performed on bare-metal single socket servers with equivalent memory, networking and storage configurations for each of the platforms shown. The processors tested here are: AMD EPYC 7763 "Milan"; Intel Xeon 8380 "Ice Lake"; Ampere Altra Q80-30; Ampere Altra Max M128-30.

x264 was benchmarked using “vbench: a Benchmark for Video Transcoding in the Cloud, a benchmark for the emerging video-as-a-service workload”, available at ARCADE Lab . Vbench’s 15 input videos were algorithmically selected to represent a large commercial corpus of millions of videos based on resolution, framerate, and complexity. The "Upload" and "Video on Demand" configurations were used to evaluate performance and power usage. Upload uses a single pass transcoding without degrading the input video quality which represents the initial upload encoding to a video service, requiring speed and quality. The Video on Demand (VoD) configuration uses a 2 pass transcoding that requires speed and improved compression without degrading video quality. The VoD first pass collects statistics used in the second pass to allocate more bits when encoding complex vs. simple frames.

To maximize ffmpeg throughput, multiple ffmpeg instances equal to the number of CPU cores available on the socket were run, using one ffmpeg thread per instance. All ffmpeg instances were run on one socket with a dedicated CPU core using numactl to set affinity. The average time to transcode the 15 vbench input files for each ffmpeg process and the socket level power usage were reported. To minimize OS overhead, the ffmpeg binary, and all input and output files were stored on a ramdisk. The Ampere Altra Max M128- 30 processor was compared to Intel® Xeon® Platinum 8380 (Ice Lake) and AMD EPYC™ 7763 (Milan) running CentOS 8.4 with 4.18 kernel. The latest available versions of ffmpeg version and libx264 with gcc 11 were used on all platforms.

Created At : April 14th 2022, 4:11:43 pm
Last Updated At : August 29th 2022, 3:46:35 pm

Ampere Computing

4655 Great America Parkway

Suite 601 Santa Clara, CA 95054

Tel: +1-669-770-3700

info[at]amperecomputing.com

About
image
image
image
image
© 2022 Ampere Computing LLC. All rights reserved. Ampere, Altra and the A and Ampere logos are registered trademarks or trademarks of Ampere Computing.